How to manage users? (v.6.032+) – LabCollector

Knowledge Base

Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

How to manage users? (v.6.032+)

You are here:
← All Topics
SUMMARY:

LabCollector allows you to add users with different permission levels. 
*Please refer to our Knowledgebase to see different user level permissions.

1. Create Users

2. Manage users: Add permission levels

3. Remove users

3. Reactivate users

Note
If you have v5.31 or below please see this KB instead.
If you have v5.4 or below please see this KB instead.
Warning
Only accessible to the super-administrator and group master administrators.

    1. Create Users

    • Go to ADMIN -> USERS & STAFF -> MANAGE LAB MEMBERS.
    • You can add the basic details for the user and create New Lab Member.

    • Now you can give the user a specific permission. see section 2

    2. Manage users: Add permission levels

    • Go to ADMIN -> USERS & STAFF -> MANAGE USERS.


    • 1. Click on New User.
    • 2. Add the details and assign a username and password for the user.
      You can connect the user lab member created in section 1 by typing the name in ‘Real person’ field.
      You can even assign a person to the group, if you have already created a group.
      *Please see our Knowledgebase to see about group policies.
    • For each user you can choose between 6 users level permissions. You can click on small to see what each user level permission has to offer.

      *NOTE: Once you have assigned a super administrator, that user level option will not be available anymore for other users in the drop down. There can be only one super administrator in one LabCollector instance.

    • Once you are done you can click on ‘Create New User’.
    • Repeat this step for all users.
    • You can also see the details about how many users more you can create the login for.

    3. Remove Users

    • Go to ADMIN -> USERS & STAFF -> MANAGE USERS.

    • You can remove a user by clicking on the small trash icon on right hand side end.
    • Warning
      As this is an irreversible action, before deleting a user please consider if you need to transfer data from this user to another user (Admin -> Data -> Transfer data).
    • While archiving a user, you can have 2 options:
      • 1. You can choose to archive the Real person (created as a lab member), by clicking the checkbox. If you check the checkbox the lab member will move to hidden contacts. See section 4

      • 2. You cannot archive associated contact (real person) for users that already have records in their name, 
    • Alternatively you can lock a user ID by clicking on the lock icon . This results in the user being locked out of LabCollector and is a reversible action. 
    • You can also see the list of archived users, by clicking the ‘Show archived Users (At lists’s End)’.

    4. Reactivate Users

    • ADMIN -> USERS & STAFF -> MANAGE LAB MEMBERS.
    • Click on the ‘Hidden/Old Lab Members’ to see the archived lab members.
    • You can reactivate the member click on ‘Reactivate’.

    • Note
      Old lab personnel profiles can be removed but not deleted to insure traceability and quality compliance.

    Related topics: