How to manage memorized items? - LabCollector

Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

You are here:
← All Topics

LabCollector offers the possibility to memorize multiple records at once, while being able to perform various actions on them, such as archiving, deleting, replicating, …etc. This process would help you gain time and facilitate your work. Plus, all of this is doable in any module of your choice.

To do so, please follow the below steps:

1. Go to the module of your choice (whether it’s a default or a custom one).

Tips/Hints
You can also memorize records from different modules at once.

.
2. You have two options to memorize multiple records, either you memorize them one-by-one by clicking on the icon (located to the right of the tab), or you can perform a search and then memorize the result by clicking on the exact same icon (this time located on top of the list). (As shown in the screenshot below).

3. Once done, go to Tools> Manage memorized items, you can now select all of your memorized records (by ticking their corresponding checkbox) or only a handful of them, you can then choose one of many actions you want to perform within the drop down menu, and finally all you have to do is click on Do!

A. Multiple Update: with this option, you can mass update multiple memorized records at once. First, you will have to select them, then it’ll ask you to choose the module to which they belong (in case multiple modules were detected), then you will have to choose the fields you want to update, and finally click on “next” to input your changes.

B. Record Sharing: you have the option to share the memorized records with secondary owners or even other groups.

Tips/Hints
You can share the memorized records directly within the module, simply click on this icon which will be located to the right of your module screen on top of the records.
This will grant you the possibility to share with groups or secondary owners very easily and rapidly without the need to navigate to the Tools section.
.
Be Careful note
If records that belong to a module with disabled “secondary owners” were detected, they will be ignored, and therefore not shared.
.

C. Generate worklist with main storage / aliquots

D. Generate worklist with secondary storage

Note
When you generate a worklist with main storage / aliquots, all of your selected records will appear on the table with only one row for each record (even the ones for which secondary storage was defined). (See screenshot below).
.

Note
When you choose to generate a worklist with secondary storage, all of your selected records will appear on the table, but for the ones where secondary storage was defined, new rows will appear depending on how many secondary storages were set for that particular record. (See screenshot below).
To identify the records with secondary storages, simply look out for the paranthesis within the record ID number.

Tips/Hints
An edit icon is located to the right of the worklist, which allows you to directly edit the record.
.
  • Various actions could be executed within the worklist, you can either:
    • Add a link in batch (normal link on the bottom of each record). For example, link a set of primers to a DNA sample. Please, refer to chapter 7.5.1 of the manual for more details.

    • Take out volume by clicking on the corresponding button (for more information, please refer to chapter 7.4.3 of the manual).

Tips/Hints
You can also access the summary table, which then you can print or easily copy to use inside ELN for example. (as shown in the screenshot below).
.

  • Add a process to all samples in the worklist by clicking on the corresponding button.

  • Remove storage by clicking on the corresponding button. A popup will ask you which storage you want to remove for the selected records, either main, secondary or both types of storage.

  • Archive records by clicking on the corresponding button (for more information, please refer to chapter 7.5.1 of the manual).

  • Your list can also be printed and/or saved by clicking on the dedicated icon. When you save, a new tab will appear and you can then name your worklist, add a description and define to whom you want to share it with.

Note
Saved lists are available through Tools -> Lists and series.
.
E. Replicate Record
F. Derive record to: once selected, a new tab appears just below your list of records. On this tab, you can select the module where you want to create the derived records and also add an optional name suffix. If you derive in Samples module, you will also have to select the sample type.

G. Archive record: once selected, you will then have to input a reason on why you want to archive the selected records.
H. Unarchive record: once selected, you will then have have to input a reason on why you want to terminate record modification.
I. Lock record:
once selected, you will then have to input a reason on why you want to terminate record modification (Read Only).
J. Restore record: once selected, you will then have to input a reason on why you want to restore the records (Disable Read Only).
K. Sign record
L. Clean from memory: in case you want to work with a different list of memorized records, you can select this option, it will allow you to clean the selected memorized records from memory.
M. Clean ALL from memory

N. Delete from database: please note that if a record has a link or a designated storage, it cannot be deleted. For more information, see our KB on how to delete data.

Be Careful note
Non-admin users cannot delete, archive or lock records through Tools 🡪 Manage memorized items.
.

Related topics: