A user account (login and password) is required to have access to the LSM platform. Access to the LSM and the LSMremote can be distinct from LabCollector access. In addition, LabCollector user logins may be directly linked to a LSM user login.



A LabCollector user can be added with the same account information as a LSM user. So in short, you can create users:


A) New Users:

Select the Users tab in the CRM 🡪 Users menu.

To create a new user account, click on the Add button. This is best for users that do not have an account in LabCollector to connect with their LSM access.

This will bring up the form to create a new user.



B) Delete:

This is to delete a user.



C) Print:

This option helps to print the list of users.


D) Email:

This allows to to send an email to all users.



E) Teams:

A team of users may be created. This allows the assignment of jobs to an individual or to any individual on a particular team. Navigate to Admin 🡪 Contacts 🡪  Users and select Teams. The following menu to manage teams will appear:




Select the type of team, the options are staff, admin, finance and customer. Type a name for the team. Select users for the team. Save to confirm changes to the team. In a similar manner, an existing team may be selected from the list and may be altered. The buttons on the menu have these functions:

Save to save any changes to a team.

Delete will delete a team – there is a warning asking if you are sure you want to delete  the team.

Reset will clear the team name and list of users on the team. The effect is not confirmed until clicking the save button.


F) Import Users from LabCollector:

You can also import existing users from LabCollector.

Please see more details  in our Knowledge Base KB:LabCollector user creation.


To import users from LabCollector inside LSM, go to Admin 🡪 Contacts 🡪  Users  🡪  Import


Please see details in our Knowledge Base KB:Import Users in LSM from LabCollector.


You will see several columns when you click on import:
The columns consist of:

  • Login: LabCollector username.
  • Name: Real name
  • User level permissions (LabCollector): User level in LabCollector
  • User type (LSM): User type in the LSM. A blank entry indicates the  LabCollector user does not have a connected account for the LSM.
  • Requester (LSM): Only necessary for Customer user type. A blank entry indicates the LabCollector user does not have a connected requester for the LSM.




A permission level (Type) must be assigned to all users:

  • Admin: Full access to all LSM applications and features.
  • Staff: Access to everything except the user account editor.
  • Finance: Access to the invoice interface, cost management and customer list. Can also view the job management list.
  • Customer: Access limited to viewing and requested their own jobs and results. Can only place jobs requests. Job requests may be done via the LSMRemote or the LSM. Access is limited to their own jobs and results.


Note

Customers are created by the super-admin/admin in LSM and using the LSMRemote, the customer can request an account.


  • Validator: Access to ONLY validate completed jobs & see finished jobs (the ones that are validated).


The upper row may be clicked to toggle between unsorted, and sorting in ascending or descending order (indicated by the absence or presence of an arrow). Login, User level permissions (LC), and User type (LSM) have drop down menus that allow filtering. The name column offers a text entry filter. These filters can be combined.

After selecting a LabCollector user to import, click in the column corresponding to the  User Type (LSM) to select from a drop down menu. The change takes effect immediately upon selecting. This choice can be changed by an admin.



  • The user list shows all lab users administrators, staff, customers and financial representatives. 
  • Specific lists of users can be sorted by clicking the column title (alphabetic order). 
  • To see details and modify profiles, double-click the record of interest, and click on the Edit button.
    • 1. List also shows which teams the user belongs to.
    • 2. It also shows which customer are active (meaning are accessible on LSMRemote)
    • 3. Once you have created a customer, you will see 2 new options:
      • Locked/unlocked account

This option is useful to manage customers’ access. Instead of editing a new account each time the same customer submits a job, the administrator can use this option. You can even lock the customer from logging in LSMRemote.

      • Active/inactive profile

The administrators can also decide to identify a profile as inactive if the user is not (or will not be) in the lab for some time. This option is useful to manage laboratory staff members.


Note

Only active & unlocked users may login to the LSM..


Warning

Once a user has been created within the LSM the user cannot be removed. The  account may be deactivated to block access.



G) Options:

Here, you can define staff restrictions. For example: you can choose to deny the ability of staff to edit jobs, add new ones, view case records, or even delete/cancel samples.