Frequently Asked Questions

How to manage users (v5.4 and above)

If you have v5.31 or below please see this KB instead.


Only accessible to the super-administrator and group master administrators


During your first use and throughout your time in the lab's life, you will need to manage the staff accounts. Here are the main two stages.


1st STEP: Create users

1. Go to Admin > Users & Staff > Manage Lab Members
Enter basic contacts for lab staff members and click on SAVE.




2. Go to Admin > Users & Staff > Manage Users
Create or edit user’s login: change password, associate user names to staff contact (real person, A).



For each user you can choose from 6 user permission levels which are (B):

1. Super Administrator (only one user may have this permission)

This level can do everything in LabCollector: see all data, define and edit all user permissions and configurations, manage all data from all users, validate waiting data and manage settings.

2. Administrator
Just below the super administrator. They can see all data, manage all data from all users and validate waiting data.

3. Staff +
Just below the administrator. They can see all data, process orders, follow budgets and invoices, use the memorize items function, create common boxes but only manage their own data.

4. Staff
Just below the staff+. They can see all data, create common boxes but only manage their own data.

5. User
This level allows the user to see data, manage their own data but new and edited data will be added to Waiting Data and will require validation by administrators or the super administrator.

6. Visitor
No administration features. They can only search and view data. No modification is allowed with this profile.


C - You can associate your user to one or more groups. See KB-10 for more details about groups.
      You can also assign a Primary Group to each user.


Repeat this step for all LabCollector users.




2nd STEP: Removing users

1. Admin > Users and Staff > Manage Users
Remove a user ID by clicking on the trash icon 063-recycle_empty.gif. As this is an irreversible action, before deleting a user please consider if you need to transfer data from this user to another user (Admin > Data > Transfer data).
Alternatively you can lock a user ID by clicking on the lock icon image. This results in the user being locked out of LabCollector and is a reversible  action.

image

2. Admin > Users and Staff > Manage Staff
Hide staff by clicking on the “hide” button below the staff ID. You can see removed users in the Hidden/Old lab personnel tab. You can also reactivate users old profiles if it is necessary.




eyrfpU0RSu.png Old lab personnel profiles can be removed but not deleted to insure traceability and quality compliance


 Last updated Wed, Mar 28 2018 10:32am